Register of Deeds

The Register of Deeds office records documents pertaining to all real property within Midland County.

The goal of the Midland County Register of Deeds office is to serve the citizens of Midland County by providing excellent customer service.

The Register of Deeds is a constitutional office established by the Michigan State Legislature as the custodian of legal documents pertaining to real property. These documents include Warranty Deeds, Quit Claim Deeds, Land Contracts, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Liens, Plats, Amendments and other miscellaneous documents designated by state law to be recorded by the Register of Deeds.

As you can see, the responsibility that the legislature has given the Register of Deeds is very important. Nearly every citizen will invest in real property at some point in their lives. Most of the time, it will be the largest investment these citizens ever make. Therefore, the integrity of these records is extremely important. Because of the importance of the recording and maintaining of these vital records, the Register of Deeds is an elected position and each term is four years.

After a document is recorded it is available to the public and can be reviewed and/or copied by anyone. Currently the public may review an online index and purchase copies of documents recorded since 1949.

Keeping your valuable records accurately and safely is our main goal.

Office Hours
Fees & Requirements
Transfer Tax Info
Links & Forms

Recording Hours

Mon - Fri

8:00 am - 4:00 pm

Documents received after 4:00 pm will be recorded in order received on the following business day, if received with cash or check.

Vault Hours

Mon - Fri

8:30 am - 4:00 pm

The price paid to purchase property is subject to State and County transfer tax unless exemptions apply.

Exemptions from paying transfer tax are offered in certain situations

  • County Exemptions
  • State Exemptions


Jennifer M. Anway

Jennifer M. Anway, Register of Deeds

220 W Ellsworth Street

Midland, MI 48640-5194

Phone: (989) 832-6820

Fax: (989) 832-6842

Hours: Mon-Fri (8 am - 5 pm)

Have a Question? Reach Out

Register Staff

Michelle M. Hoover - Chief Deputy

Beth Murray - Deputy

Debra Stieve - Deputy